Association for Asian American Studies 2020 Book Awards

Creative Writing: Poetry

Jennifer Kwon Dobbs, Interrogation Room (White Pine Press). Honorable Mention: Faisal Mohyuddin, The Displaced Children of Displaced Children (Eyewear Publishing).


Creative Writing: Prose

Kawika Guillermo, Stamped: an anti-travel novel (Westphalia Press).



Renisa Mawani, Across Oceans of Law: The Komagata Maru and Jurisdiction in the Time of Empire (Duke University Press). Honorable Mention: Simeon Man, Soldiering through Empire: Race and the Making of the Decolonizing Pacific (University of California Press).


Humanities & Cultural Studies: Literary Studies

Stephen Hong Sohn, Inscrutable Belongings: Queer Asian North American Fiction (Stanford University Press).


Humanities & Cultural Studies: Media, Performance, and Visual Studies

Elizabeth W. Son, Embodied Reckonings: “Comfort Women,” Performance, and Transpacific Redress (University of Michigan Press). Honorable Mention: Stephanie Nohelani Teves, Defiant Indigeneity: The Politics of Hawaiian Performance (University of North Carolina Press).


Social Sciences

Jan M. Padios, A Nation on the Line: Call Centers as Postcolonial Predicaments in the Philippines (Duke University Press). Honorable Mention: Valerie Francisco-Menchavez, The Labor of Care: Filipina Migrants and Transnational Families in the Digital Age (University of Illinois Press).


Each year, the Association for Asian American Studies celebrates outstanding academic and creative work. Members of the Association nominate works in the above categories. Committee members make their recommendation to the AAAS board for final approval. The winner of each category serves on the committee for which they won in the following year. 

This years' committee members are:
  • Creative Writing (Poetry): Margaret Rhee, Gerald Maa, and Audrey Wu Clark
  • Creative Writing (Prose): Karen Tei Yamashita, Tina Chen, and Eugene Lim
  • History: Julian Lim, Faye Caronan, and John Rosa
  • Humanities & Cultural Studies (Literary Studies): Crystal Parikh, Lan Dong, and erin Khuê Ninh
  • Humanities & Cultural Studies (Media, Performance, and Visual Studies): Nancy Yunhwa Rao, Christine Bacareza Balance, and LeiLani Nishime
  • Social Sciences: Eric J. Pido, Lalaie Ameeriar, and Antonio Tiongson

Thank you to all of the committee members for their diligent work. Congratulations to all of the authors! 

Please join us in honoring the authors at the upcoming Awards Reception on Saturday, 11 April 2020, 4:30-6:00pm, Renaissance Hotel, Washington DC. For more information: Register for the conference and reserve your hotel room. Registration rates DOUBLE on March 1. NOTE: All presenters MUST register by March 1 in order to be listed on the conference program.  [UPDATE: Due to the 2020 Coronavirus COVID-19 Pandemic, the 2020 AAAS Conference has been cancelled.]